New Feature : Assign manual priorities on work items

We love to bring you more customization features to match your daily work. And because you asked for it, we are now introducing Manual Priorities. This new feature is particularly useful when you just want to remove a specific pull request or an issue from your Priority Inbox's feed.

The Priority inbox uses pre-built logic to evaluate the priority of items related to you. If this is not enough, you can create Custom Prioritization Rules to further refine the prioritization logic for yourself or your team.

But what if you want to just bump the priority of a single item? It's now possible via manual priority assignments. Let's show you how to do it.

Assigning manual priorities

To change the priority of a work item, simply click on its priority icon and select the new priority you wish to assign.

Example with a board card

Assign priority on a board card

Example with an inbox item

Assign priority on an inbox item

That's it! Upon assigning the new priority your inbox or board will refresh to reflect the new ordering of work items.

Automatic priorities vs Assigned priorities

One important concept to understand is that priorities evaluated by Keypup (in combination with your custom prioritization rules) evolve based on the context and actions taken on each item.

  • E.g. 1: An issue with a due date will transition from low priority to important as the due date gets closer.
  • E.g. 2: A pull request may match a custom prioritization rule setting its priority to critical while it is in review. Upon doing the review, the pull request will unmatch the custom rule and revert to Keypup-generated priority, which may be low or medium.

On the other side, assigned priorities are static. They do not change over time based on context and actions. You need to manually maintain these assigned priorities until you decide to revert to automatic priorities (see next section)

Removing manual priorities (revert to automatic)

At any point in time you can revert an item to using automatic priorities by selecting the Auto/Reset option in the list of priorities.

The Auto/Reset option always shows you the automatically detected priority in parenthesis. Selecting this option will revert the item to using this detected priority.

Forcing the currently displayed priority

You can force an item to remain in a system-detected priority by assigning a manual priority.

In the example above the item was estimated to be critical. If on top of this you decide to assign the Critical priority, the item will remain in this state until you manually change the priority or Auto/Reset it.

Therefore there is a subtle difference between an item being in a given priority and an item being forced to remain in this priority. The label Force is here to remind you of this difference.

Let us know what you think about this new feature!

You may also like reading: